Diwali, the Festival of Lights


Diwali is a five-day celebration commonly referred to as the “Festival of Light.” While Diwali is typically celebrated in India, many Malaysian citizens also celebrate. Let’s find out more about this bright holiday!

What tradition did I learn about?:

Diwali (also called Dipawali) is one of the biggest and most important holidays in the Hindu religion. Although Diwali is a Hindu celebration, many other religions such as Jainism and Sikhism observe variations of the celebration. Diwali tends to coincide with important dates in these religions, too. 

Diwali takes place on the seventh month of the Hindu calendar, which means this year it will begin on October 18th. Each day of Diwali holds its own special meaning and traditions. On the first day of Diwali, Dhanvantari Triodasi, people believe it is auspicious (will bring good luck) to clean their homes and buy gold. Narak Chaturdasi is the second day of Diwali. To celebrate this special day, people use small lamps and create intricate patterns with colored powder called rangoli to decorate their homes. It is from the tradition of lining up clay lamps (deepa) in rows (avail: rows) that Diwali derives its name. On the third day, Diwali, families gather together to pray to the goddess Lakshmi, the goddess of wealth. After prayers, the family celebrates with a feast.