Traveler Bio

Hi, I'm Max, and I’m 23 years old. I come from Minneapolis, Minnesota. I just graduated from college and I enjoy running, reading, and spending time with friends. In addition to those hobbies, another one of my favorite things to do is to learn about and speak foreign languages. When I was in middle school, I started to learn German, which is a language spoken in the countries of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. I realized that I really enjoyed learning and speaking German, both in the rules of how to speak the language, and the kindness of the culture as well. I also had some really great teachers who inspired me to continue to take German courses in college.

In high school, I was lucky enough to visit Germany through an exchange program, where I was matched with a German high school student, lived with his family, and visited his school. I had such a good time, and he and I are still friends to this day.

Now, I’m working as a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant in a classroom in Germany, helping students learn English! I really enjoy getting to know new people and learning about different cultures, and I’m excited to share my favorite things about American culture with my German students. And just like I’ll be sharing my experiences with my students in Germany, I also look forward to sharing my experiences with you, my Reach the World partner classroom. I’m excited to hear your questions and get to know your classroom as well!

Want to learn how you could be a Fulbright Scholar like me? The Fulbright Program is the United States government's flagship international exchange program. Fulbrighters foster mutual understanding between the United States and partner nations, share knowledge across communities, and improve lives around the world. Learn more by clicking here!